Frequently Asked Questions

Here are some of the questions we are asked most frequently. Plus maybe a few questions that people SHOULD be asking, but usually don’t! Many of these questions are related to driver’s license requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions
How much do lessons cost?
Have a look at our Pricing page.
How do Lesson Packages work?
Have a look at our Pricing page.
How do I sign up?
Check out our Pricing page, and our How Many Lessons page to determine if you want to purchase your lessons as a package, and how many lessons you want. Then hop over to the Scheduling page and go set up your account on the scheduler.
What days and times are you open?
We have lessons available every day of the week except Wednesday. 8am appointments are available on Mondays and Fridays. 6pm appointments are available on Tuesdays and Thursdays. 10, 12, 2 and 4pm appointments are available on most days. If you have a tight schedule, we recommend scheduling at least 2 weeks in advance to ensure that you get the time that you want.
Where do I need to go for my lessons?
We come to you! We’ll typically pick up and drop off a student at their home. We can also pick up or drop off at school or work. We don’t have to pick up and drop off at the same place, but we DO need to know in advance if we’re doing anything other than our default of picking up and dropping off at your home address! If you have special requirements, please make note of them when you schedule your appointment.
What areas do you cover?
We teach throughout Pinellas County. Yes, all of it!
What kind of car to you use? Can you use my vehicle?
We like mid-sized economy cars. Not too big, not too small, good seat adjustment, good visibility, automatic transmission, good fuel economy, and GREAT air conditioning! Our primary car is a 2017 Kia Rio, and we love it. All of our cars are state certified with an instructor brake installed.

We prefer to teach in our cars both because we’re very familiar with them, and because they have the instructor brake, and we know we are properly insured. We CAN teach in a student’s vehicle, but we very rarely do it. If we do, it is normally AFTER the student has their full driver’s license. At that point, we’re riding along with the student less as a “state certified driving instructor” and more as a “personal driving coach” to help them find comfort driving their own car.

Do you have female instructors?
At this time, we do not have any female instructors. But, rest assured that all of our instructors are state certified, and part of that process is fingerprinting and a state background check. And, we will only hire people who teach the way we want them to. That means “yelling” is not part of the curriculum! Students love us!
What are the requirements to get a Florida Driver's License?
If you are under 18: You must have had your Florida Learner’s License for 12 months, have documented a minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice, and pass a vision and hearing test and a road test.
If you are 18 or older: Same as above, only you are not required to have your Learner’s License for 12 months.
How do I get a Florida Learner's Driver's License? (Learner's Permit)
The requirements are:
Must be 15 or older
Must prove identity
Must have taken a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course (can be taken online)
Must pass a Road Rules & Road Signs Exam (can be taken online if you are under 18)
Must pass a vision and hearing test
Must have parental consent if under 18
I've had three crashes in three years, can you help?
Absolutely! We are authorized by the State of Florida to provide the 4-hour behind the wheel driving course that you are required to take. Read more about it on our Crash Course page.
What about Auto Insurance?
While you’re driving our car as a student, you are covered by our commercial driving school policy.

Driving any other vehicle, you really need to consult with your insurance agent before taking action on procuring a license. Some insurance companies do not consider a driver with a Learner’s Permit to be a “rated driver”. Most DO consider any fully licensed driver, or in some cases, even just a teenager of lawful driving age living in the household, to be a “rated driver”. The insurance rates for teen drivers can, unfortunately, be very high.

Will I get an insurance discount for completing your driving course?
There are some insurance companies that still offer discounts for professional driver’s education. In some cases, the discounts can be significant enough to more than pay for the course! You’ll need to consult with your insurance agent to be sure. If a discount is offered, it usually requires a minimum of 6 hours of instruction.
How many driving lessons are required?
This will vary greatly depending on the student and their history. Some students have experience with a variety of things (anything from driving other vehicles or bicycles to riding horses or playing sports, even boating) that can make it easier for them to learn the basics of driving. Others are “natural observers” who have been watching other people drive for many years, and will pick it up quickly. And some just have a natural affinity for driving. And others don’t. And that’s fine! But, we can’t tell you with any certainty how long it will take any particular student to learn to be a safe and confident driver. The amount and quality of practice that a student gets between their lessons is also a significant factor. We do have some general guidelines on our How Many Lessons page that may help.
Where can I get a copy of the Driver's Handbook
The printed driver’s handbook has become a myth in our office, we can’t remember the last time we saw one! It’s available online, and it is one of the best things you can read! Seriously! It’s very well-written and very thorough. Even if you’ve been driving for years, you should give it a read to refresh yourself on a lot of little details that you may have forgotten… or that may have changed.

Florida Driver’s Handbook